Responsive Coaching by Josh Goodrich 

This book focuses on successful coaching of teachers. It largely outlines a systematic approach for one-to-one coaching but also describes key ways in which to embed this into a school’s culture. It reminded me of Unleashing Great Teaching in its systematic approach. It was one of those books that is a genuine step by step approach- so not a page turner. Nevertheless, I really kept me engaged despite the detail. This was because it felt intuitive and convincing. It was also backed up by a depth of research. 

There were lots of features that I liked. Firstly; it identified a series of key aspects to that approach that made sense – the need to address the classroom environment first (or just after curriculum) makes sense. I loved the flexibility that made the book appropriate for teachers at any stage of their careers. It made me think deeply about what aspect of my own teaching I could benefit from coaching with- if I could get past my own ego. It was particularly strong on how to support the novice compared to the expert. It really convinced me that Wiliam’s belief that we all can and should strive to improve is achievable. It also walked-through many very insightful examples. I found those relating to behaviour and class relationships particularly engaging. I was blessed with a fairly naturally positive manner with pupils and initially bought into the idea that some teaching characteristics are innate. I lost that belief a long time ago but this was the best book I have read for practical suggestions on how to help someone learn. Particularly as it rejects the idea of simply saying- watch and copy me. 

This is highly recommended for anyone responsible for teacher training and development. 

Read this if… you have a role in teacher development in your school at any level. 

Leave a comment